Wineries of Missouri

Standard

I know what you are thinking. Wineries are in vacation spots, not near me! At least that’s what I always thought. I am here to tell you, if you look a little, you might be pleasantly surprised!

The very first Missouri winery I went to was Stonehaus Winery in Lee’s Summit.JPEG
From Visitmo.com

This is a beautiful winery inside and out, with a gazebo and pond in the back. I left with a bottle of the Traminette, a Gewürztraminer hybrid.

Next was a haunted venue, Belvoir in Liberty. Apparently this old hospital and children’s home has occurrences where lights come on randomly and noises are heard. Luckily when we were there, nothing too out of the ordinary happened. 252716_664338828578_1781624206_n

The next one(s) were on a road trip heading east. First stop was in Rocheport at Les Bourgeois. Their wine is actually pretty easy to find in stores, including my favorite Riverboat Red, a great sweet one.

In Hermann, the options were endless! I would have to say my favorite was Adam’s Puchta. They have a Jazzy Berry which is a super sweet raspberry flavor and Berry Black which is obviously blackberry. They also do a great red, Hunter’s Red.481805_4153777521425_1557965663_n

These are the closest ones I have been to on the Missouri side. I plan on going to Jowler’s Creek in Platte City soon when they do a “green farm” tour, as well as a wedding reception at Amigoni Urban Winery in downtown KC! Also on the soon-to-do bucket list is a little trip to Weston.

** Edited 2014 to include

Pirtle Winery in Weston

Jowler’s Creek in Platte City

Leave a Reply

