KCRW15 & Recipe successes and fails

Standard

Firstly, puppies. My mom and I walked by a pet store and decided to go look at the pups and this little guy was just begging to be played with. His 3 month old teeth were SO sharp and he was full of rambunctious energy. Too cute.

image

One of my favorite weeks of the year in Kansas City is Restaurant Week. I love trying out new restaurants that I otherwise might not be able to afford. This year, I tried out 3 new places. First was Reserve, inside Ambassador Hotel. I am going to try to recreate the stuffed portabella mushrooms, they were incredible, topped with a lemon-garlic aioli. The crab atop salmon was cooked to perfection as well.

image

I treated my parents and Allen to Chaz and we had a wonderful experience there. Our waiter was so passionate about the food and made us feel welcome which is a nice change from the sometimes prestigious attitude some can have at five star restaurants.

image

Dad with his “She-Crab soup”, not to be confused with He-Crab 🙂

The last (for my wallet’s sake) place I went was Plaza III. This is an older steakhouse on the Plaza, and the group of girls I went with and I all got the filet mignon, because you just don’t order chicken at a steakhouse. It was the least favorite out of the 3 restaurants I tried.

image

Now for my recipe fail. I have tried a number of times to be successful with making cinnamon rolls. I saw a recipe idea that included using pre-made pizza dough as the base. So, I tried. I think after having found my new favorite roll at Natasha’s Mulberry and Mott, as well as many others, nothing will compare.

image

Hellllllp

I did have success with homemade tortillas! I ended up making this Roasted Vegetable Stacked Enchiladas with them.

image

Other recipe successes this week included these Copycat Chick-fil-A Nuggets & these Healthy Peanut Butter Pancakes.

Treat-Yourself-Tuesday-Badge

Any great recipe fails or success stories?

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

